9 Things I Wish I Could Tell My Teenage Self

Zeke Grantham
5 min readApr 10, 2021

After watching Back to The Future for the first time, I wished I had a Delorean time machine. Despite all of the crazy mishaps Marty Mcfly experienced, I think we all would still take the risk with keys in hand. Going back to see your parents as teens would be one of the most amazing experiences I could imagine. We all make mistakes and wish we knew things before we learned them. Some of us wish more than anything to go back to a younger version of ourselves and smack them over and over. I am a big believer in learning things the hard way. Although I am satisfied with what I know, when I learned it and how, this is exactly what I would tell my teenage self if Doc left the Delorean unlocked.

Photo by Serrah Galos on Unsplash
  1. Life is hard, and that’s okay.

I remember often I was the drunk salmon swimming upstream. Not understanding why I was doing it, but I was. I put pity on myself more often than not and complained too much about things that simply didn’t matter in life. Life is hard. It sucks. You are going to get pushed down, flipped over, and thrown off the bridge. You can’t stop it from happening to you, but you determine everything you do afterward.

2. Despite how alone you might feel, you aren’t

Growing up, I always struggled with meeting people that viewed the world in the same way I did. When I told people things I…

--

--

Zeke Grantham

I am a business owner, published author, and avid traveler. I love writing and exploring any chance I get.